Chesapeake Music brings renowned musicians to delight, engage and surprise today's audiences, and educate, inspire and develop tomorrow's.

Homepage Competition  >  Ensemble Profiles


Ying Li, Angela Chan, Andres Sanchez

AYA Piano Trio

Based in Philadelphia, AYA was formed in 2013 by three students at the Curtis Institute of Music. The trio has performed extensively across the United States, and in 2018 they were semifinalists in both the M Prize Chamber Arts Competition and the Fischoff Competition. They were winners of the 2018 Young Chamber Musicians Competition in North Carolina, where they were invited for a residency of recordings and concerts. They have performed at the Great Lakes Chamber Music Festival and the Norfolk Chamber Music Festival, and they made their New York City debut in 2019 at the Mannes New School Concert Series. Performances in 2020 include a Concerts International Series appearance in Memphis and a Beethoven Triple concerto with the Waterbury Symphony Orchestra in Connecticut. Aya Piano Trio is handled by Jean Schreiber Management.

Colores Trio

After meeting at Zurich University of the Arts, the Colores Trio formed in 2017 to explore a rich and varied repertoire of both contemporary compositions and new arrangements of classical works, played with enthusiasm and joy. The musicians, who are from Switzerland and Austria, study under Klaus Schwaerzler (solo percussionist of the Tonhalle Orchestra in Zurich), Benjamin Forster (solo timpanist of the Berlin Philharmonic) and Raphael Christen (Yamaha marimba artist and soloist). They won the Jury and Audience Award at the 2019 Chamber Music Competition of the Migros-Kulturprozent in Zurich, received a Special Prize at the 2019 International Anton Rubinstein Competition in Dusseldorf, and were silver medal winners at the 3rd Berliner Competition in Berlin.

Matthias Kessler, Fabian Ziegler, Luca Stafflebach Photo Credit Akvilė Šileikaitė

Tobias Elser, Joanne Choi, Noa Sarid, Caleb Georges

Dior Quartet

Hailing from Israel, Canada, St. Lucia and the USA, the members of Dior formed their ensemble at Indiana University in Fall 2018. Within eight months of their formation, they won the Bronze Medal at the 2019 Fischoff National Chamber Competition (Senior Division). They have also won first prize at the 9th Plowman Chamber Music Competition (Senior Strings), first prize at the 2019 Kuttner Quartet Competition, and runner-up at the Beethoven-Haus Competition at the Jacobs School of Music. Last summer they attended at the St. Lawrence String Quartet Seminar at Stanford University, and were selected to perform in the International Showcase at Stanford’s Bing Concert Hall. They held the 2019 Fellowship String Quartet at Wintergreen Summer Music Festival in Virginia and participated in the McGill International String Quartet Academy. They are currently the new Kuttner Quartet, the student string quartet-in-residence at Indiana University Jacobs School of Music.

Iceberg String Quartet

The Iceberg String Quartet was formed in September 2017 at the McGill University Schulich School of Music in Montreal, Quebec. Within three months the quartet won the grand prize at the McGill University Chamber Music Competition. They were invited to study and perform at the Royal Conservatory in The Hague, Netherlands in April 2018, where they worked closely with Asdis Valdimarsdottir of the Miami String Quartet. In July 2018 they were chosen for the “Evolution of the String Quartet” study and performance program at the Banff Center for Arts and Creativity in Alberta, Canada. In the words of Russell Iceberg, “Performing is a chance to explore what it means to be human.” The ensemble has performed in Vermont, New York and Delaware, in addition to their home town of Montreal.

Chris Stork, Chung-Han Hsiao, Jacob Efthimiou, Russell Iceberg

David Bayard, Paul Lorenz, Ting Hua(Arthur) Liang, Sean Bradley

Soma Quartet

Based in Bloomington, Soma was formed at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music under the guidance of Otis Murphy. In addition to being the Grand Prize winners at the 2019 Plowman Chamber Music Competition, they were First Runner-Up in the 2018 Classic Alive Young Artist Competition; First Prize winners in the 2017 Chicago Woodwind Ensemble Competition; and were also finalists in the 2018 North American Saxophone Alliance Quartet Competition. Since their formation in 2016, they have performed at a wide variety of venues,
including the International Navy Band Symposium, the inaugural American Single Reed Summit, and the North American Saxophone Alliance region five conference. The ensemble is committed to performing new works to expand quartet repertoire and has collaborated with several composers from Indiana University. Soma also has a passion for traditional repertoire and transcriptions and has performed numerous outreach concerts designed to bring saxophone to a wider audience in venues ranging from retirement centers to coffee shops and even the Bloomington Transit Center. 2020 includes the performance of a Mendelssohn Quartet transcription at the Odyssey Chamber Music Series in Missouri.

Chesapeake Music 2019 ©

17 S. Washington St., Unit B | PO Box 461 | Easton, MD 21601 | Phone: 410-819-0380 |